What does eighty proof mean in alcohol?

Proof is the government documentation of a distilled beverage's alcohol content. In the U.S., if you cut the number in half, you get the actual amount of alcohol in the bottle. Eighty proof means 40 percent of the liquid in the bottle is alcohol.