Who were the patriots in the revolutionary war?

Well now, that rather depends on which side you were on. In school, US children are taught that the rebels...our ancestors...were the patriots. But from the English point of view, their soldiers were the patriots, attempting to quell a rebellion. A patriot is any person who loves their country.