What is the origin of the name kai?

The name Kai has various origins and meanings in different cultures: ... In Frisian, Kai is a short form of Frisian "Kaimbe", meaning "warrior". In German, Kai has the same meaning as in Frisian. In Hawaiian, Kai is a unisex name which means "sea".