What is a phenique fox?

The fennec fox is a small crepuscular fox native to the Sahara Desert, the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt, and the Arava and Negev deserts in Israel. Its most distinctive feature is its unusually large ears, which serve to dissipate heat.