What's the difference between army and military?

The term “military” refers to the U.S Armed Forces, as a whole. Thus, it’s an umbrella term. The “Army” is one of the five branches that make up the U.S Armed Forces. As a result, it’s a part of the military, and a part of the four other branches: the Air Force, Marine Corps, Navy, and Coast Guard.