Why is mercury so small?

Like a raisin spinning around the sun, Mercury is shrinking and wrinkling. The planet is now up to 8.6 miles (14 kilometers) smaller in diameter than it was nearly four billion years ago, according to a report released on Sunday. The planet is downsizing because it is cooling.