How long does it take for a potato to grow in minecraft?

When mature (stage 8), the plant shows carrots or potatoes protruding from the ground. Growth happens at random intervals and is affected by growing conditions. The average duration of each stage ranges from 5 minutes (in ideal conditions) to 35 minutes (in worst-case conditions).