Do sunflowers grow back every year?

It depends on the type of sunflower. The easiest way to tell is that annual sunflowers (replant yearly) tend to grow from single stems spaced out from each other, while perennial sunflowers (come back annually from same plant) grow in clumps with many stems coming out of the ground in a tight clump.