Why are dogs so nice?

Dogs have been our best friend for thousands of years. Dogs are naturally social and want to get along with their pack members including humans. A cynical person would say a dog is nice because it wants to be fed but really a dog is nice first and then humans want to feed it. Lucky dog and lucky us