Can you put wine in chili?

Sweet red wines when added to chili produce a counterbalance to the chili powders and chilies used in the recipe. A more robust and therefore less sweet wine will add to the acid complex flavor profile of the chili. The alcohol content is cooked off and contributes little to the flavor profile.