Where does vanilla flavoring come from?

Pure Vanilla Extract contains 13.35% vanilla bean extractives, 35% alcohol, and distilled water. Imitation vanilla is synthetic vanillin made in a laboratory. Vanilla flavor is made with required amount of vanilla bean extractives, but with Propylene Glycol instead of alcohol.