Do birds eat caterpillars?

Many birds feed on the big caterpillars, beetles, grubs, and other medium and large insects and spiders they find near the ground. Blackbirds, bluebirds, sparrows, crows, wrens, and other birds get a lot of protein by hunting out these bugs. Red-winged Blackbirds eat both seeds and insects.