What is the pelvic cavity?

The pelvic cavity is a body cavity that's bound by the bones of the pelvis. Its oblique roof is the pelvic inlet (the superior opening of the pelvis). Its lower boundary is the pelvic floor. The pelvic cavity mostly contains reproductive organs, the urinary bladder, the pelvic colon, and the rectum.