How long should a hamburger be grilled?

Here's how long to grill burgers: For rare burgers, cook for 4 minutes total (125°F) For medium-rare burgers, cook for 5 minutes total (135°F) For medium burgers, cook for 6 to 7 minutes total (145°F) For well-done burgers, cook for 8 to 9 minutes total (160 °F)