How do they name the hurricanes?

For Atlantic hurricanes, a list of male and female names is used on a six-year rotation. The only change is if a storm is so deadly or costly that the future use of its name would be inappropriate. For more than 21 named tropical cyclones in a season, a supplemental list of names is used.