What's the devil's advocate?

The devil's advocate: person who expresses a contentious view to provoke debate or test the strength of opposing arguments. Historically, a Roman Catholic official whose duty it is to examine the evidence on which a demand for beautification, canonization, or the verification of a miracle rests.