What was the first roller coaster ever built?

The oldest roller coasters are believed to be the so-called Russian Mountains, specially constructed hills of ice built in the 17th century. The 1st known patents for a roller coaster were obtained in 1885, related to the Switchback Railway that opened a year earlier at Coney Island.