What is the current of iron?

When the Soviet Union essentially took over eastern Europe in the late 1940's, very little information on what was going on in those countries made it to the outside world, so it was as if an "Iron Curtain" had been drawn across Europe. This phrase is attributed to Winston Churchill in 1946.