What is a prodical son?

"Prodigal Son" is a character in a parable that Jesus told to illustrate, how generous God is in forgiving sinners who repent. The Prodigal Son was a young man, who asked his father for his inheritance and then left home for “a far country, and there wasted his substance with riotous living”.