Who sings the original version of somewhere over the rainbow?

Over the Rainbow was written for the movie The Wizard of Oz, and was originally sung by Judy Garland in her starring role as Dorothy, for which it won an Academy Award for Best Original Song, and became Judy Garland's signature song.