What is a thoracic muscle?

There are five muscles that make up the thoracic cage; the intercostals (external, internal and innermost), subcostals, and transversus thoracis. These muscles act to change the volume of the thoracic cavity during respiration.These are pectoralis major, minor, serratus anterior and scalene muscles.