Where do mosquitoes go in winter?

Some hibernate Some lay eggs and die

---

Their winter retreats vary by specie but generally as the temperature drops below 50 degrees F. the adult female lays eggs in a damp place and then dies. The larvae goes into hibernation and activates as Spring arrives. By Summer they attack.

---

Mosquitoes hibernate. They are cold-blooded and prefer temperatures over 80 degrees. At temperatures less than 50 degrees, they shut down for the winter. The adult females of some species find holes where they wait for warmer weather, while others lay their eggs in freezing water and die.