What is a fiscal year?

What does fiscal year mean? A fiscal year is a 12-month accounting period that a business uses for financial and tax reporting purposes. A fiscal year is also known as a financial year. A fiscal year can be different to a calendar year – it doesn't need to start on January 1 and end on December 31.