Who is fred stanford?

Fred Sanford is the titular character of the 1970's comedy "Sanford and Son." The birth name of Redd Foxx who played Fred Sanford is John Elroy Sanford. So, amusingly, Mr. Sanford was played by Mr. Sanford.