How does a flashbang work?

It is a stun grenade, also known as a flash grenade, flashbang, or thunderflash, is a less-lethal explosive device used to temporarily disorient an enemy's senses. It is designed to produce a blinding flash of light of around 7 megacandela and an intensely loud "bang" of greater than 170 decibels.