Do humans have a tail bone?

The tailbone is a vestigial structure. The reason we have it is because in our evolutionary line, an animal that humans evolved from had a tail. Over a very long period of time, we grew out of a need for it, and it gradually decreased in size, becoming what is now our tailbone (coccyx).