What is the origin of brass tacks?

To measure fabric and upholstery quickly, merchants would hammer brass tacks along the edge of the counter at common intervals such as a quarter-yard, half-yard, and one-yard. After the customer selected a cloth, the merchant would say, "Let's put this down to the brass tacks" and measure it.