What's the meaning of unorthodox?

The Greek roots of unorthodox are orthos, or "right," and doxa, or "opinion." So, someone whose beliefs are orthodox has "the right opinion," while an unorthodox person does not. The definition has evolved so that unorthodox's meaning is closer to "unusual" or "innovative" than "wrong."