How long do i cook asparagus for?

Check the asparagus and turn it as needed to make sure the stalks cook evenly and don't burn. Continue cooking it for 5 minutes longer, or until asparagus is tender but still crisp and bright green. Young shoots of asparagus are only somewhat toxic to humans when raw.

---

Put slightly salted water in a pot, to just cover asparagus. Bring water to boil, lower heat to medium low, then simmer for 3 to 6 minutes, until soft and tender. Remove remaining water, and add a few tablespoons of olive oil, and garlic or garlic powder. Saute for another 1 to 2 minutes, and serve.