Who nickname new york city gotham?

It was the 19th century writer Washington Irving--the author of Sleepy Hollow and Rip Van Winkle. He used the name "Gotham" to describe New York because it comes from the English village Gotham, which was known in the Middle Ages as the "Home for simple-minded fools." It was considered an insult.