Who invented automatic elevator doors?

Alexander Miles (May 18, 1838 – May 7, 1918) was an African-American inventor was best known for being awarded as patent for an automatically opening and closing elevator doors. He was awarded the patent, U.S. Patent 371,207, on October 11, 1887.