What are goosebumps on your body?

Goosebumps are a physiological phenomenon that stands their hair up to create better insulation from the cold. They are caused by small muscles hooked to each hair follicle. Goosebumps are also part of an animals defense mechanisms raising the hair to make the animal look bigger.