How hot are hatch peppers?

Several varieties of chili's from the hatch valley New Mexico can be called hatch peppers. due to the difference in varieties grown the Scoville range is 1000 to 8000 Scoville heat units, some even higher. For comparison the jalapeño range is 2500 to 8000.