What's the difference between a roth i. r. a. and a four oh one k.?

A Roth IRA is funded by you while a regular 401K may also have an employer match. The Roth IRA can be withdrawn tax free under certain rules while 401K withdrawals are taxable. A Roth 401K also is not taxable, but the account is subject to required minimum distributions, which a Roth IRA is not.