What is hardball stage?

This is a cooking term. Hard Ball is when sugar syrup is cooked to a temperature of 250° F to 265° F and when a little of the syrup is dropped into cold water it forms a hard ball. When you remove the ball it will be hard, but you can still change it's shape by squashing it.