What is a complex sentence mean?

A complex sentence is a sentence that can stand on its own with one or more sentences that cannot stand on its own. For example: My dad laughed when I told a joke. Here, "My dad laughed" is the complex sentence, and "when I told a joke" cannot stand on its own.