What's the first letter of the japanese alphabet?

Written Japanese does not have an alphabet. Japanese sounds are written as consonant-vowel pairs called "mora", and they are written in two character sets, hiragana and katakana. One possible reading of the Japanese kana would start with the sound "ah", followed by its mora ka, sa, ta, na, ha, etc.