Why are hot dogs so good?

A hot dog all alone is good. It’s already been smoked for flavor, so it doesn’t actually need anything to make it taste like heaven. But a hot dog in a bun is the perfect canvas to create a work of art, by adding chili, onion, mustard, sauerkraut, pickles, cheese, the toppings are unlimited.