How did people make electricity?

In the seventeen hundreds many scientific discoveries were made linking magnetism to electricity. Many of these were demonstrated as parlor tricks and scientific toys. Other inquisitive minds took over turning these discoveries into practical applications of batteries, generators and lightbulbs.