What temperature does chicken have to be?

To safely destroy dangerous bacteria the internal temperature of cooked chicken should reach no less than 165 degrees Fahrenheit. This is the minimum temperature for safe cooking, however, for maximum safety a higher chicken cooking temperature may be preferable.