What is a new year's pretzel?

Germans ring in the New Year with a Grosse Neujahrs-Breze, or Big New Year's Pretzel. This braided sweet yeast bread shaped like a pretzel is the first thing many Germans put into their mouth when the clock strikes 12 on New Year's Eve because it is thought to bring good luck.