What is the jay for in michael j. fox?

Michael J. Fox was born Michael Andrew Fox. He disliked the sound of "Andrew" or "Andy", so he decided to use a different middle initial and settled on "J", as a tribute to actor Michael J. Pollard.

---

Fox was born Michael Andrew Fox in 1961. When he went to register with the Screen Actors Guild, he discovered that Michael Fox, a veteran character actor, was already registered. Two people can't be registered with the same name so he adopted the "J" in homage to legendary actor Michael J. Pollard.