Is avocado safe for cats?

Avocados are generally safe for dogs and cats as long as you don't feed them the pit which can be a choking hazard. The confusion arises from the fact that avocados contain a substance called persin. Persin is a substance found in the avocado pit, skin, bark, and leaves of certain varieties.