How long do you boil chestnuts?

Rinse chestnuts thoroughly and pierce with a sharp knife. In a large pot add enough water to cover the chestnuts and bring to a boil. Add the chestnuts and cook for approximately 45 minutes. Drain the chestnuts, cool, and peel off the outer shells.