Can you eat the skin of a japanese sweet potato?

According to TheSpruceEats.com, the skin of Japanese sweet potatoes is edible. Japanese sweet potatoes can be peeled before using, but they’re often prepared with the tender, nutritious skin on when baked or roasted.