How much vegetable oil in chocolate chip cookies?

Most chocolate chip cookies call for butter, but vegetable oil can be substituted. Generally, if a baking recipe calls for a stick of butter, which is 8 tablespoons, you can substitute with 6 tablespoons of oil. Butter gives cookies a better flavor than vegetable oil.