What's the difference between navy beans and great northern beans?

Great northern beans, which resemble white lima beans, are oval-shaped with a thin skin and larger overall than navy beans. Navy beans are also oval-shaped, but they are much smaller and slightly plumper than great Northerns, with thicker skins.