Why did the united states fight in the persian gulf war?

In August 1990, Iraq invaded Kuwait to gain control over the lucrative oil supply. Because of the threat to the oil supply, the U.S. sent troops to be part of a UN military force to drive Iraq out of Kuwaiti territory. This effort was known as the Persian Gulf War, or Operation Desert Storm.