What are stitches made out of?

A doctor uses a piece of surgical thread called a suture to sew (or stitch) two ends of skin together. Surgeons once used animal tendons, horsehair, pieces of plants, or human hair to create sutures. Today, they're made from natural or manmade materials like plastic, nylon, or silk.