When did the american football league merge with the national football league?

The Merger of the AFL and the NFL was announced on June 8, 1966. The 1970 football season was the first season with an American Conference and National Conference. The 1966 agreement allowed for a unified draft and interleague playoff that became know as the Super Bowl in 1967.